Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

Call for sessions: Association of Critical Heritage Studies Second biannual Conference, Canberra, 2-4th December 2014

News: May 29, 2013

First announcement: Call for sessions.


Suggested over-arching themes are as follows (but feel free to submit proposals that are outside these):
• Exploring the critical in critical heritage studies.
• CHS and emerging and received Asian heritage sensibilities.
• CHS and working class and industrial heritage.
• CHS, emotion and affect.
• CHS and memory studies.
• What can CHS offer to the study of intangible heritage.
• Critical approaches to the heritage of diaspora, migration and ethnicity.
• CHS, aesthetics, poetics of place/conservation as creative practice.
• New media and computer mediated heritage.

Sessions may include paper presentations (of 4, 8 or 12 papers), roundtables, workshops, exhibitions, performances, audio visual presentations, amongst others.

The deadline for the call for sessions is: 1st November 2013.

Online submission of session proposals

Confirmed Keynote speakers include:
Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett – New York University, USA Michael Herzfeld – Harvard University, USA
Zongjie Wu - Zhejiang University, China
Denis Byrne – NSW Environment and Heritage, Australia

Organising committee:
Laurajane Smith (Laurajane.smith@anu.edu.au); Gary Campbell; Kylie Message; Tracy Ireland; Yujie Zhu; Kynan Gentry; John Giblin; Amy Clark (Australian Chapter); Michelle Stefano (US Chapter); Navin Piplani (India Chapter)

Scientific committee:
Dr Alexandra Denes (Princess Maha Chakri Sirindhorn Anthropology Centre, Thailand); Professor Elisa Giaccardi (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands); Dr Rodney Harrison (UCL, UK); Professor Marc Jacobs (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium); Dr Christina Kreps (University of Denver, USA); Professor Kristin Kuutma (University of Tartu, Estonia); Dr Bosse Lagerqvist (University of Gothenburg, Sweden); Dr Conal McCarthy (Victoria University, New Zealand); Professor Sharon Macdonald (University of York, UK); Professor Lyn Meskell (Stanford, USA); Professor Lucie K. Morisset (Université de Québec, Canada); Professor Michel Rautenberg (Université de Lyon, France); Professor Noel Salazar (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium); Professor Laurier Turgeon (Université Laval, Canada); Dr Tim Winter (Univeristy of Western Sydney, Australia); Professor Lesley Witz (University of the Western Cape, South Africa).


Page Manager: Jenny Högström Berntson|Last update: 2/26/2018

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?